Metamorphosis, in more ways than one

A lot can change in a month, especially in an urban neighborhood!  It’s been just over a month since I moved from Cambridge to Arlington, MA.  I’ve been in Cambridge since 2003 (though in quite a number of apartments- more on my moves some other time) so going to Arlington felt like… caving.  Like I’d gone old and soft and moved to the burbs.  Lured by offstreet parking and the affordability of actual space, with grass and trees.  It’s true, I guess: I sold out for a yard the size of my Corolla.  And so far, so good.

But tonight, for a meeting of the illustrious Harry Potter Book Club (again, more on that another time), I got to head back to my not-so-old stomping grounds, the Porter Square area of Cambridge. And as I walked to Cambridge Common, lo and behold, I passed a store I had not seen before: Metamorphosis, 1693 Mass Ave, former vintage clothing store and neighbor of a now-closed Verizon store and a surprisingly resilient Tibetan Boutique.

1693 Mass Ave

1693 Mass Ave

Refurbished furniture always catches my eye, so I stopped my fruitless search for a Bank of America ATM and headed in.  Yelp tells me Metamorphosis is the sister store of Eddie’s on Elm Street in Somerville, and I believe that, based on the vibrantly painted wooden dressers and benches.  However, my grandfather is a master antique furniture restorer and he tells me that to paint antique wood is sacrilege, so my eye gravitated toward Metamorphosis’s array of reupholstered chairs.  Heaven!  Antique chairs recombined with modern fabric.  If I had $195 to spend, this white Colonial would have been in the Corolla coming home to Arlington.  On this second chair ($300), I don’t love the fabric choice as much, but CHECK OUT the legs on this… the swan ornamentation is gorgeous.  I’d re-reupholster this in something to better complement the legs of the chair. The girl who was working told me her uncle does all the reupholstery work, and the store has just enough furniture in it to be full, but a small enough collection that you can take it all in.  Even if you’re not in the market for a $200+ refurbished chair, it’s fun to look at the old-made-new.

Swan legs chairWhite Colonial

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Metamorphosis, in more ways than one

  1. Definitely makes me miss home. Nothing like that here. 😦
    And I LOVE that white chair too!

  2. Elisa

    I LOVE THE WHITE CHAIR! GO BACK AND GET IT! 🙂 I like your new blog. Very fun. What are you reading these days? I’m working on Portrait of a Lady.

    • unquiettime

      I just started the monstrously long Lonesome Dove. Just finished “Year of Wonders” by Geraldine Brooks… book club is next going to something with “Hedgehog” in the title. How is Portrait?

Leave a Reply

