Tiffins ahoy! …and… Knowing That You Don’t Know What You Know (Book Club Part 2)

Nearly everyone who works with me has commented on my 2-tiered metal lunch container, called a tiffin. It keeps different components of lunch (like, salad and meat or soup and bread) separate, so nothing gets soggy and you only have to carry one container.  Genius.  I knew they were traditionally Indian, but got mine as a gift, so have never been able to recommend where to buy one… until now!

Tiffin Link

Just another reason to love Greenward.

And if you’re wondering what’s going on in Food Matters (see previous post if you didn’t know we’re a book club), let me just say it is confusing. I’m reading this whole section on how the government a) subsidizes the most profitable crops, not necessarily the healthiest for people or the land b) designed, revised, and continues to revise the food pyramid and the guidelines for what Americans should eat. And then on top of that there’s a lot thrown in about how the food marketing we grew up with has messed with our heads (campaigns like “Beef- It’s What’s For Dinner” or “Got Milk?”). Finally there’s an additional layer on how health studies that claim a food or ingredient is linked to risk for a certain disease are really inconclusive and can be skewed almost any way you want.

So now I feel like nothing is safe to eat (except the brownies I made yesterday!) and I’m afraid of the subliminal messages pulsing out of my television.

I feel obligated to mention that I don’t think Food Matters is the best written book I’ve ever read. Thus far if I had a friend who wanted to read a book about food issues, I’d plug Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.  I found that informative and enjoyed the reading of it as well. Someone else just recommended to me In Defense of Food.  Anyone else know any good ones?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Tiffins ahoy! …and… Knowing That You Don’t Know What You Know (Book Club Part 2)

  1. Scott Blaufuss

    I haven’t read Michael Pollen’s In Defense of Food either but he generously gives away the book in the first sentance of the introduction “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants”. I skimmed the rest of the book to finding what I expected; an explanation why this easy statement isn’t easily achieved in our modern world of food.

    It’s still on my list of books to read.

    • unquiettime

      Thanks Scott, for the info and the recommendations. Based on what you said about Michael Pollen’s philosophy on eating, I think you’d find Food Matters redundant, especially if you already agree and aren’t looking for more arguments to convince you. It’s pretty much the same deal, although (as perhaps I will post on later) Food Matters has a huge index of recipes!

Leave a Reply

