They either need a copy editor, or…?

OK. This is not exactly an instance of “Everyone Needs a Copy Editor,” but it has me giggling aloud on my couch (again, read: pleather futon), so I need to share.

My husband and I are planning a trip to Germany and so I am, in quest for hotels and other things, reading a lot of German websites. Many of them have the option to choose “English” on the homepage, but the translations become awkward to varying degrees. The intent is usually clear, but things are frequently garbled in translation: “Outside your door is bliss” or some such thing.  Please understand I do not expect perfect English from these places, but I am sometimes amused by the translations. With that caveat, the item that has me giggling is as follows, from a lovely guesthouse near Rothenburg ob der Tauber…

“Children up to the 4th birthday are cost free. We offer a baby cod if required.”

1 Comment

Filed under Everyone Needs a Copy Editor

One response to “They either need a copy editor, or…?

  1. Bethany

    Baby cods are always required. Also, Rothenburg is awesome.

Leave a Reply

