Seasonal musings…

Well, it’s that time of year again:

IMG_6590The grocery store is trying to sell me both pumpkins and miniature Christmas trees. While I am getting quite excited for the Christmas season, I am trying to keep it bottled up a little while longer…

…because it’s still Halloween, and I’m wondering if we’ll get any trick-or-treaters. Having no real idea of when trick-or-treating occurs, I’ve been ready since 11AM. So far: nothing. While I do love kids in cute costumes and adults in inventive ones, Halloween isn’t high on my list of favorite holidays.  My tastes have changed since I was a trick-or-treater: I’ve had a huge bowl of candy sitting here all day, and I have not once been tempted to munch on it. I don’t really eat candy anymore. (So: neighborhood kids, if you’re reading this, get over here because I’m probably just going to give handfuls of the stuff to anyone who comes to the door.) This morning I imagined a creative twist on the tradition: our candy’s in a green basket, and our compost goes in a green bucket.  When kids say “trick or treat!” I really could give them an option, just by leaving out both receptacles…

There is a Halloween “tradition” of sorts which is very much on my mind today, and that is Boston Ballet’s production of Cinderella (James Kudelka choreography and the Prokofiev score- I do love those Russians). It’s not part of this year’s lineup, but I’ve seen it twice in six years in Boston (including 2008), so I have high hopes for its return. The production creates the most magical ambiance I’ve felt in a theatre, with help from an Alice-in-Wonderland-style set of distorted-size objects, a vague Jazz Age costume feel, and the following method of ball transportation:

g113000a125757dbce12e573aa889e49a3ed59930f09e1a

Sigh.

So whether or not little firemen and witches and princesses show up at my door, I’ll be here this evening, listening to Prokofiev, and thinking—until November at least—about enchanted pumpkins.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Seasonal musings…

  1. If that isn’t Whole Foods I don’t know what is!! I miss that place!

    The other significant thing about today: Reformation Day. Which is pretty cool. 🙂

Leave a Reply

