Story Time

IMG_6609

A lot of books came home with me today. First, at church, there was a book sale, and so we bought (much discounted) Richard Stearns’ The Hole in Our Gospel and Donald Miller’s newest book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, which is supposed to be about life story and legend and other stuff I am fascinated by.

IMG_6600Then we went to the reopening of the Cambridge Public Library and, I mean, look at this photo. This was just the main entryway– I could not get over how the number of people who were at the library. I muttered to Tim, “It’s not like they’re giving anything away,” and he said, “They are- free books!”  And it was true! The redesign of the CPL feels very much like a bookstore, not a traditional library— both the manner of displays and the vibrant colors made me feel a little like I was in a Barnes and Noble. It probably helps that many, many brand-new books are currently gracing the shelves. I had gone to get one book for work (Complete Oxford Shakespeare), but immediately saw on a display 5 copies of a book I’ve been waitlisted for for a month (The Magicians, by Lev Grossman)! Since they were artfully displayed, I asked a nearby library staff, “Can I… take this one?”  She, understandably, looked at me like I didn’t understand the concept of a library and said, “Of course!”

That was just the beginning.

The entry level has new releases, movies, and audio… more general interest titles on the second floor… and the third floor is the most beautiful, welcoming Children’s Room, equipped with comfy furniture, pet hamsters (!), kid-accessible computers, and lots of books and sunlight.  If I had a kid, I know where we’d be.  Then off in the “original” portion of the building are more of the adult collection, study rooms, and lovely sitting nooks like these.

IMG_6603I hadn’t realized there were more books over that way until we’d already checked out, otherwise my arms might have been even fuller on the walk back. But as it is, I have to go up to bed to read one of the following (see left stack in photo, excluding Shakespeare for work and a travel video on Germany) :

Olive Kitteridge, by Elizabeth Strout

The Magicians, by Lev Grossman

Brooklyn, by Colm Toibin

and The Magician’s Elephant, by Kate DiCamillo

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Story Time

  1. I love everything about this post…..and wish I could get to that library!!! Miss you!

  2. Elisa

    The library looks fantastic – so inviting. I’m jealous. You’ll have to let me know about Olive Kittridge. It’s been on my list for a long time but I’m kind of on the fence for some reason. I miss you guys.

Leave a Reply

