Highlights of 2009

I read another blog post today which inspired me to think through my 2009. I recollect the highlights here in the hopes that this will inspire your reflection as well!

TRAVEL. 2009 was a great year for travel. Usually I hope to leave the country once, but this year managed it twice! Tim and I spent a week in February in Portugal and ten days just recently in Germany. Beyond that, we made several forays within the States. Some standout experiences…

1. Listening to Fado in a hole-in-the-wall pub in Lisbon while roasting our own sausage over a small flame and listening to all the locals sing along

Port in Portugal

2. Hiking Gothics and Haystack mountains in the Adirondacks with Tim, my sister, and my brother (and some other fit people)

3. Attending the Blosser Family Apple Butter Stir in Goshen, IN (140+ jars of apple butter canned!)

4. Checking out my brother’s new digs, a resort community—er, apartment complex?—in Irvine, CA, and getting to a Dodgers game while we were out there

Huntington Beach, California

5. Wandering the Nurnberg Christkindlmarket at night, gluhwein in one hand and sausage in the other, music and history and winter all around.

CULINARY. I cooked the food for a Harry Potter themed party, as well as for a holiday gathering of about 35 people at our house after Tim’s thesis defense. I made my own chicken stock routinely, and mustard once.

Best meal out:

Tim’s pick: Sol Douro restaurant (may not be its exact name), Peso Regua, Portugal

Meg’s pick: Oleana, Somerville, MA, on our anniversary

Best meal in: This one’s tough.

Made over and over again: Stuffed Mushrooms.

Made once: Iraqi Beef and Vegetable Stew

LITERARY. I read a lot this year, some highlights being:

The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon

Sex God by Rob Bell

Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

The Hole in Our Gospel by Richard Stearns (just finishing)

PROFESSIONAL. I made the Big Leap in July to the freelance career and while (much to my confusion) I haven’t accomplished all of my life goals in six months, the change worked well and was smoother than I’d feared, financially and mentally. My husband finished his PhD in December, published an article in Nature, and there was much rejoicing.

PERSONAL. Attended at least three major league baseball games. I ran a 5K—my first ever race. Moved out of an apartment building where we were constantly under auditory siege from upstairs neighbors and into a peaceful little cottage. Excelled at Pictionary. Joined a farmshare. Began a novel.

Me, in the green/far left, plugging along into 2010...

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

