Books on a Plane

Maybe I'm a good candidate for a Kindle after all.

Tonight I am going away on an airplane for five days. My clothes are half-packed upstairs, but I am more preoccupied with the stack of books on my kitchen table: the candidates for reading on my journey. From top to bottom, they are:

One YA: Savvy, by Ingrid Law. A Newbery Honor book given to me by a friend yesterday.

Two travel titles: The Netherlands, Lonely Planet Guide; and My ‘Dam Life: Three Years in Holland, by Sean Condon. (Hint: destination spoiler.)

Three weightier selections: Disenchanted Night: The Industrialization of Light in the Nineteenth Century, by Wolfgang Schivelbusch.

The Age of Wonder: How the Romantic Generation Discovered the Beauty and Terror of Science, by Richard Holmes. (You may remember this from Five Books—by total coincidence someone gave it to Tim for Christmas and I’m now halfway through it! It’s dense, but really interesting. And as a side note, I have read (including Age of Wonder) all of the books from that post except Acedia and Me!)

Culture Making, by Andy Crouch.

And out of morbid curiosity, Cleaving, by Julie Powell, of Julie & Julia fame.

Decisions, decisions. How to choose realistically and also weight-consciously…

As you have perhaps gathered, we are going to the Netherlands, for the first time. Business? Pleasure? Both. Tim is interviewing for a job at a university there, which means that we are also visiting to feel out the possibility of living in Delft for a few years. I meant to write more about this concept specifically, but this week ate my life. This post in itself is a minor miracle.

My sister, brother, and I were all meant to be traveling this weekend, from three separate states and to three separate destinations on three separate airlines.  Both of them had their flights canceled in the past forty-eight hours due to routes passing through the strange circumstance of snowstorm in the American South.  We are hoping to have smooth travels, no cancellations, and good stories upon our return!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Books on a Plane

  1. Jennifer

    Meghan,
    You do need a kindle! We have been experimenting with them here at the library where I work. Love that SOMEONE still loves books and reading 🙂
    Jennifer L
    (A Tahawus hiker 🙂

Leave a Reply

