Exciting Inertia

I am finding move prep to be exciting and also sort of inert. For example, yesterday I had a reprieve from some of my regular work and was eager to tackle a moving project. Except I couldn’t figure out what to do. I just stared at objects in our apartment… went down to the basement and shuffled around a couple boxes… came back upstairs… and then went back to hunting for bathing suits on eBay.

We have to separate out the STORE items from the PACK items, because Tim’s employer in the NL wants us to provide a couple of moving quotes on our PACK load. But I guess how that works is that the moving company sends a representative to our apartment who assesses the damage by looking at everything we want to take.  But not packed.  They pack it themselves; otherwise they don’t take responsibility if everything breaks.  This goes completely against my “I will do everything myself and I will like it” attitude, and I think it’s not going to be the last thing in this process to do so.

Selling on Craigslist and eBay has been mixed success. Success: piccolo (because you know that’s going to make our move so much lighter), a dress, some shoes, a bookcase. Non-success: large red chair, a quantity of canning jars. A friend told me that she was able to sell on Craigslist a battered chair and a couch her cat had repeatedly peed on, so I have concluded that maybe Craigslist is more of a venue for cheap, well-used furniture than for halfway decent, we-paid-money-for-this furniture.

Tim called California to check on my birth certificate’s progress the other day, because our other apostilles have already come (marriage one from MA and Tim’s from TX). The funny (not really) thing is that California is so out of money that they aren’t staffing a lot of their public service offices right now, so all he could call was 311. He described the experience as follows:

“It was like phone tag. No, phone manhunt. No, phone hide-and-seek. And I was seeking.”

In the end he did get some answers, and I seem to be well on my way to becoming legitimate again.

Most recently, we filled out the form with TU Delft (the university) that should get us temporary housing when we first arrive and need to apartment hunt. The university, we had heard, has some properties where new international students or hires can pay to stay while they get their feet on the ground. I had heard this and been thinking: It’s a dorm. We’re going to live in a dorm. And while there are a couple properties that do look like dorms (and we aren’t guaranteed our first choice), the majority of them actually look really nice… like places we would want to live long-term, if we could afford it. Like this place. We think we’ll rent the temporary place for two months (you have to tell them up front), because we were advised that apartment searches there can take quite some time due to short supply and fast turnover.  I hadn’t expected it to take that long; I was thinking a couple weeks, but I guess we’re better safe than sorry.

To be continued…

3 Comments

Filed under Our Dutch Adventure

3 responses to “Exciting Inertia

  1. Lianne

    I’m convinced CA offices are open 3 days a week, 5 hours a day (with a 2-hour lunch). If you manage to get anything other than a voicemail or a perpetual busy signal, it’s reason for celebration. Glad you’re becoming a real citizen! 🙂

    Also, that ‘short stay’ you linked looks gorgeous!

  2. Kevin

    Was it hard to part with the piccolo? Or are your ears already feeling better? Remember these jokes:

    Q: Why were piccolos invented?
    A: To give the whole orchestra a headache.

    Q: Which is better a piccolo or a tuba?
    A: Piccolo, you can throw it further.

    I won’t reprint the one about keeping to piccolos in tune.

    • unquiettime

      Ha… It actually wasn’t too hard at all. I never really loved to play the piccolo, so the instrument hasn’t seen much action in years. My flute teacher growing up was much of the mindset of those jokes: that they were really two totally different instruments.

Leave a Reply

