Moving Is Confusing.

I don’t know if I lost my wisdom with my teeth, but moving is confusing. Do you find there are some topics that, no matter how many times someone explains them to you, kind of bounce off your brain and refuse to settle in? My brain has this reaction to (to name a few):

  • The logistics of health insurance
  • Explanations of why certain appliances will work with an adaptor in Europe and others won’t
  • Football (American)
  • Directions (geographic)
  • Music Theory

Try to talk through any of these topics with me, and I will get glassy-eyed and confused. To be polite, I will ask you to tell me just one more time, and then I will give up. I think there are other topics belonging on this list. Tim can probably tell you what they are.

I think I am going to add:

  • International Movers

Because I have been sitting here with three packets of information from three different movers and two different quotes (one is being slow). I have read through all of the brochures (one needs a copy editor). I have read all about customs and liftvans and how each company tries to assure me that they are the best and the other companies are sinister and deceptive. It reminds me of college brochures, where each college promises to be the best four years of your life and utterly unlike any other school.

At the end of the day I don’t need to pick, because we send all three quotes to Tim’s employer and they pick, but we do get to say which we prefer and why. And right now it just seems like there are too many facets for me to have a strong opinion on preferring anything, plus I have the sense that later on in the process there will arise many additional facets that were never explained or which never occurred to me.

I don’t exactly miss the days of five friends and a U-Haul… or my classic move in a taxi… but professional moves are confusing.

Any advice? Any topics that bounce off your brain?

1 Comment

Filed under Our Dutch Adventure

One response to “Moving Is Confusing.

  1. Ahhh, even the *thought* of moving brings on a migraine!

    I just wanted to pop over and thank you for entering the giveaway for my Karma Cards on the Daddy Likey blog! We’ve got a few sets left if you’re still keen (cough, shameless self-promotion, cough) 😉

Leave a Reply

