Garden State of Mind

We spent last week in Beverly, MA, at my brother-in-law’s house, where my niece recently learned to count to ten, excluding one and seven and repeating five. Numerically and otherwise, it was an unusual (but relaxing) week, mainly because: we didn’t have to pack anymore! After the movers took everything away and we were left with just clothes and odds and ends, life got a lot simpler. There is something to be said for simplifying your “stuff,” and you don’t need to move overseas to do it.

In fact, I realize as I type this, I am still at it. Because now we are at my parents’ house in New Jersey, and let me tell you, I was a high-school pack rat. It is taking me years to undo the packratness I inflicted on myself during the teen era. I was the kid who, after the prom, did not just save the tacky snow-globe and albums of awkward candids, but also (for example) the napkin from the prom, and maybe some sand from the beach we went to the next day… yeah. I was that kid. And every time I come home, I fill another few bags with trash and another few boxes with donations. It’s never-ending.

The scary thing is how much I’ve accumulated in just twenty-eight years. My grandfather moved into an assisted living community this week after fifty-plus years in his Long Island home (which is a whole other topic I can’t get my head around). He set aside what he wanted to take to his new apartment, and from his whole house he filled just a few boxes with mostly practical items and a few special mementos. The man is my inspiration right now, I am telling you. Because it says to me that what’s important in his life doesn’t travel in a box or a U-haul.

So, amid the mess of everyone’s worldly goods, here we are in New Jersey, hanging out at my parents’ and waiting for our visas.

1 Comment

Filed under Our Dutch Adventure

One response to “Garden State of Mind

  1. Katrina

    Moving definitely helps the purging process, doesn’t it? Painful but also releasing.

    I’m going to see what a trip for two to the Nether-Netherlands might cost, by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

