And we’re off!

We’re leaving for the airport in an hour! I spent the morning playing a dubiously satisfying game of Luggage Tetris trying to pack everything into my two checked bags without causing either to go over fifty pounds. One bag is right on the line, so we’ll see how it weighs in at the airport. I could be one of those unfortunate souls repacking the bag on the floor in front of the ticket agent while everyone looks annoyed. Hopefully not.

I also went for a run this morning to try and tire myself out for the plane ride. I rarely sleep on planes, but since we have an overnight flight, it would be nice.

The past twenty-four hours have been an emotional grab-bag. I’m very excited, but nervousness has set in too. If all goes smoothly, we’ll be in Amsterdam around 8:30 (local) tomorrow, take a train and be in Delft by around 10 a.m., get our keys and be in our temporary rental by afternoon!

OK, so this is in upstate New York.

2 Comments

Filed under Our Dutch Adventure

2 responses to “And we’re off!

  1. Katrina

    Can’t wait to hear more! I already miss you! Right…to be honest, I’ve been missing you since August, 2008. 😦

  2. Betsy

    Meg, this is so exciting! I can’t wait for your first Netherlands post. I love all your packing and World Cup watching posts, and I hope you had a safe flight and are settling into your rental and your new home.

    I see Team Netherlands has made it to the FINALS! You will have such fun watching.

    lots of love!

Leave a Reply

