Cooking sans oven

Though Santa might come early this year and bring me a new oven (yay), for now I am daily trying to come up with recipes that can be made on the stove top. I would welcome submissions of stove-top recipes, particularly desserts or entrees. We have a stove range, but no oven, no microwave, crock pot, or toaster/toaster oven.

I’ve noted as I flip through my recipe binders skimming and pulling ones I know can be done in a pan that our dinners have had a decidedly Asian flair of late. We do love that wok. This Saturday I made Pad Thai, following a New York Times recipe my mom sent me ages ago. The recipe is vegetarian, but I added chicken and shrimp and just cooked them beforehand. It came out a little peppery for our taste (we were hoping for more of the sweetness) so if I make it again, I might back off the cayenne. Is the NY Times an authentic source for Thai recipes? I don’t know. But overall this dish was pretty good.

Notable photo points:

1. You need a lot of ingredients to make Pad Thai! The prep (gathering all ingredients, slicing and chopping) took far longer than the actual cooking. 1a. The wine is not one of the ingredients for Pad Thai.

2. FInished product will feed two people at least twice.

3. The definition of sans is surprisingly emotive for such a little preposition.

Main Entry: 1sans

Pronunciation: sanz, saa()nz, sänz

Function: preposition

Etymology: Middle English saun, saunz, sans, from Middle French san, sanz, sans, from Old French sen, senz, sens, partly from Latin sine without, and partly modification (influenced by Latin sine) of Latin absentia in the absence of, abl. of absentia absence — more at SUNDER, ABSENCE

: deprived or destitute of : WITHOUT <her face seen in repose … sans the liveliness of her eyes revealed her age — Eugene Walter>

“sans.” Webster’s Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged. Merriam-Webster, 2002. http://unabridged.merriam-webster.com (20 Sept. 2010).

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Words

6 responses to “Cooking sans oven

  1. Gil

    Its funny you say that because I find myself using the stovetop more thanthe overn anyway, mostly for speed reasons. Anyway, you can use a little bit of olive oil in a pan to cook salmon or tuna with a good crunchy sear; also look at middle-eastern foods, a fair amount of them (I’m thinking beef kebabs) can be done on a pan, particularly if you own a cast iron.

  2. unquiettime

    Mmm… fish. That sounds quite tasty. I realized, going through my recipes, that 1. I tend to bake a lot (cookies, biscuits, calzones) and 2. I like to roast things, especially as we are coming into fall. Roasted vegetables, meat roasts…etc.

  3. Ooh, your pad thai turned out pretty!

    When I made pad thai, I followed these instructions, which are more of a lengthy treatise than a recipe – one of the main tenets is that the sweet/salty/sour/spicy balance is infinitely flexible, according to your preference:

    http://www.chezpim.com/blogs/2007/01/pad_thai_for_be.html

    Also, I made ratatouille a couple of nights ago, which is apparently what you’re supposed to do at the end of summer when there’s still a lot of eggplant and zucchini at the farmer’s market. This was stovetop-only and quite tasty, and I’ll probably post about it in a day or two.

  4. Liz

    I make lots of stuff on the stovetop 🙂 Here are some of my favorite non-Asian recipes:
    Citrus Chicken: http://www.DinnerBeat.com/ShareRecipe.asp?DishID=448
    Tuxedo Chicken: http://www.DinnerBeat.com/ShareRecipe.asp?DishID=453
    Chicken Corn Chowder: http://www.DinnerBeat.com/ShareRecipe.asp?DishID=563
    Grilled Tilapia with Smoked Paprika: http://www.DinnerBeat.com/ShareRecipe.asp?DishID=31405
    Rice with Curry Sauce: http://www.DinnerBeat.com/ShareRecipe.asp?DishID=542
    Wild Turkey Skillet: http://www.DinnerBeat.com/ShareRecipe.asp?DishID=452

    Of those, I think the Tilapia is my favorite (and very quick and easy.)

    Desserts are harder though…maybe something pudding-ish?

  5. Katie

    Stove-top, eh? I say the following:
    American chop suey
    Most mexican food, if you can get the ingredients there
    Kale soup
    Homemade mac and cheese (basically a roux, some pasta, and extra cheese)
    But my best suggestion? Breakfast for dinner. MMMmmmm. Brinner.

Leave a Reply

