Ask a Dutch Person: Mail

I know there are a few Netherlands-dwellers who read this blog and I’m wondering if any of you can help me with some questions about the postal service here. I am going out of town for a few days and wondering what will happen if TNT tries to deliver a parcel while I’m gone. I know if I miss it once, they’ll leave me a sticky note and try again. If I miss the delivery multiple times, does the package go to a holding facility where I can pick it up? What happens?

This also raises the question of what happens to the post if I were to go out of town for a longer trip, say, back to the US. In the US you can have your mail “held” if you know you will be away for a longer period of time. What would a Dutch person do in this case?

Thank you for your help! Alstublieft!

1 Comment

Filed under Our Dutch Adventure

One response to “Ask a Dutch Person: Mail

  1. Mathieu

    Packages will indeed be held at a pickup point for you, but they will also try to deliver to your neighbours for the convenience.

    It is possible to have your mail held (put the tnt website through Google translate to find it), but most nlers do the old-fashioned “have a friend pick up the mail”

Leave a Reply

