Apulia Frugal Traveler Column Is Out!

hoarding

Being in the New York Times is pretty cool, but it doesn’t mean the water company’s not going to shut off your tap all day while they do some scheduled pipe work. I got caught up in an e-mail frenzy this morning sending the Apulia (Puglia) article around, and wound up jumping in the shower just before the water shutdown I’d received a postcard about. Partway through my shower the temperature and the water pressure started to decrease. No big deal, I told myself. I am a writer. I sit around in my pajamas half the day anyway staring at a computer screen surrounded by mounds of paper I keep intending to organize but secretly admire in their haphazard glory.

I will admit I was pretty excited to see Seth Kugel’s column hit the Internet last night and to read (to my great relief) that my itinerary suggestions for Puglia did not lead him to travel misery. This does bode well for our trip in August, as he mentions, although we are doing a similar and different itinerary from the one I sent him. We hope to see some of the same sights and rent bikes, but we’re staying in a rented trullo somewhere outside the town of Cisternino.

Planning the itinerary for the contest took a lot of hours and felt a little pointless at times (“I might not win” or “There’s no real prize other than a mention”) but I thought I had a shot, and I’m glad I went for it. Reading about Seth’s trip and seeing those photos is fuel for my travel spark!

Meanwhile, in Delft...

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Apulia Frugal Traveler Column Is Out!

  1. Andrea

    Yay, Meghan!

  2. Jen

    That trip sounds amazing. It’s definitely going on my list!

  3. Kaylan

    I just read the article, Meghan. It’s awesome! I am so, so happy for you! Congrats!

  4. Erin

    Just read the Frugal Traveler. So awesome Meghan! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

